BTG FORUMS
Forums -> General Discussion -> Any computer guru's out there?
The GeekMessage
Sparticuslvl 19
Visit the App Stores to download the game!
Site Admin

Posted: 3/14/2011 12:16:04 PM

Hey all,

As some of you already know, I am a computer programmer... when it comes to computer hardware and server issues I am fairly new. I know the basics on how to set up a webserver, ftp servers, mail servers, dns, etc... but when it comes to troubleshooting issues with them I'm kinda lost.

I've had some great conversations with a few smart people on this site over PM's... but I thought I'd toss this question out to the public to give them a break and to see what other computer guru's we have :)

So anyways, we are on the new server now. I am monitoring the server performance to try and catch any issues early. I opened the server's performance monitor (perfmon.exe) and was monitoring the "Page Faults/sec". I'd have to assume that we want this number to be zero... anything above that isn't good.

Well, it's not zero. Far from it. It's average is showing 18,000 page faults per second. I'd say most of the time it ranges from 0 to 50.... but ever 3 seconds or so it shows crazy numbers like 150,000 page faults a second (which brings the average up).

Any guesses what could be causing this? The server is showing plenty of free memory.

I do notice that mysqld.exe is using 0 cpu but every few seconds it goes to 100% then back to zero. It must be related to mysql then.... no clue :(

alchemistlvl 42
Want - to - play - a - game ?
Geek

Posted: 3/14/2011 3:34:22 PM

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb742534.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/server/iis/tencom.asp

How much ram does the box have?
What is the pagefile size set to?

From my.ini - what are these set to?

thread_cache_size
table_cache
innodb_buffer_pool_size
wait_timeout
key_buffer_size
Sparticuslvl 19
Site Admin

Posted: 3/15/2011 6:50:38 PM